25 Days of Writing Prompts Day 5

We made it to the best day of the week: Friday!

I am so proud of myself for sticking with my writing challenge for the entire week, and I look forward to doing it until I reach Day 25!

When faced with today’s prompt, a lot of thoughts went running through my head right away. Let’s see if I am able to make sense of them all.

Writing Prompt Number Five: What would you do if you could hear others’ thoughts?

Mind Reading Powers

If I could hear others’ thoughts, I would first think I was a superhero of sorts and instantly think of an appropriate and super bad-ass name.

Just kidding. Kind of.

In an attempt to not be committed to an insane asylum, I would most likely keep this ability to myself, and hopefully be able to turn it on and off. Who always want to hear what other people are thinking?

I imagine this power would have been pretty awesome to have during high school or college when you could have eavesdropped on that really smart kid’s thoughts during a hard test.

But I am an adult.

Those days are behind me!

Now, if I had the ability to read someone else’s thoughts, I would probably leave it on during press briefings or news conferences so I would be able to hear if the person who was speaking was really buying into what they were saying to the general public.

I would also try to work with the FBI or private investigators and help with interrogations, because I would potentially be able to hear if the alleged criminal was thinking any guilty thoughts.

Lastly, I would focus a lot of my time on trying to not obsess over what other people are thinking. I imagine my long walks I so thoroughly enjoy now would become annoying and distracting. I don’t really want to hear what Karen down the street feels about the recess mom at her daughter’s school. And I definitely do not want to hear that Alaina thinks I’m too big to jog in leggings. Some people have curves, Alaina!

Overall, I imagine hearing others’ thoughts could be beneficial in bringing down the crime rate, but I am just one person. I think it would be a very heavy job, and I’m okay with people telling me white lies now and then.

Maybe it’s better than way anyway!

Thoughts are private for a reason.

.

Start over with Writing Prompt One by clicking HERE!

Did you read all five of my prompts this week and enjoy my writing? Maybe you should check out one of my available books!

Published by Kristen Dutkiewicz

I am an author, recently releasing over ten short-reads/novellas on Amazon, including my short read memoir about my journey with multiple sclerosis. I am also published with Amazon's episodic reading platform, Kindle Vella! I live in a suburb of Philadelphia with my husband and two cats. When I am not writing, you can find me either exercising or reading!

2 thoughts on “25 Days of Writing Prompts Day 5

  1. I love this! Whenever someone asks me about a super power I wished for, reading someone’s thoughts is always the answer only because I’d like to empathize with other better since that is something I have been working on.

    Like

  2. I think we as adults take ourselves too seriously and this is an excellent reminder to let our hair down with your writing prompts, especially this 5th one on super powers.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started